Bad MTHFR

This has been a long road but I really feel like I am edging closer and closer to getting answers. Through my own research and listening to my body I figured out I have a major intolerance to foods high in histamines and as far as I know I have my whole life. I feel like I have really made a major breakthrough.

My theory is that I have the MTHFR polymorphism. If you are wondering what the hell that means exactly, join the club. I could be totally off though. I will know more once my Organic acids test is in next week. The results will tell me a lot about my detoxification processes, gut bacteria levels, etc. I just read an article that says excessive histamine is from inadequate methylation in liver detoxification so I must add that I suspected my liver played a role in this a few months ago. Most people I told, including my doctor, pushed that idea to the side.

My 23andme test results will get here in about 6 weeks. Patience is key in my life at the moment. This will tell me more information regarding my genes and whether or not I have polymorphisms or whatever.

I suspect I am an “under methylator” because of my health issues; allergies, ocd tendencies, headaches, etc. But to be honest I have no idea what the difference between over and under is exactly. It is believed that under methylators are considered high histamine people(me), low in serotonin/dopamine, low in zinc, low in calcium, magnesium, have a high basophil count, and are low in other nutrients as well as high in folic acid. If the results do come back and I am a bad MTHFR (Ha I had to) my nutritionist will help me by correcting nutritional imbalances.

Maybe there is hope after all.

Keep searching for answers if you’re on your health journey.

xoxo,

Kb

Leave a comment